Ākonga (students) may be eligible for dual tuition with Te Kura through either:


Each gateway has a limit to the number of Government-funded courses that can be chosen to support the ākonga learning programme. For more information you can also check our Choice Course Selection Guide 2024.

Each gateway has specific criteria:

Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu (Te Kura) Enrolment and Dual Tuition Policy

Summary of Government-funded dual tuition

Year Level

Gateways Available

Years 1–15

Learning Support Needs
Emergency Staff Vacancy
School Emergency

Years 7–8

Te Reo

Years 7–15


Years 9–15

Subject Not Available
Small Senior Classes
Cultural Affinity
Student Transfer
Cultural Exchange

Curriculum Adaptation

Regional Health School
Specialist School
Government Institutions

Curriculum Capability

Activity Centres
Alternative Education Centre
Teen Parent Unit
Realm Country schools

Fee-paying dual enrolments

Dual Providers may be able to enrol domestic and international ākonga with Te Kura on a fee-paying basis, if they do not meet the government funded gateway criteria. The fee is charged to the enrolling school or organisation.

View our fees schedule

All ākonga must be:

Private schools do not have access to government funded gateways but may access dual tuition through the fee-paying gateway.

Ambury Park Centre, Odyssey House, and Hohepa School are the only private schools that have retained government-funded access due to the schools’ character and role in supporting vulnerable tamariki (children) and rangitahi (young people).